

MINUTES

Extraordinary Council Meeting Monday, 25 September 2023 6.00pm

Council Chamber Level 4, PHIVE Parramatta Square, Parramatta

COUNCIL MEMBERS

The Lord Mayor, Councillor Sameer Pandey and Councillors Phil Bradley, Kellie Darley, Pierre Esber, Michelle Garrard, Henry Green, Ange Humphries, Deputy Lord Mayor Cameron Maclean, Paul Noack, Dr Patricia Prociv, Dan Siviero, Georgina Valjak, Donna Wang and Lorraine Wearne.

COUNCIL STAFF

Chief Executive Officer - Gail Connolly, Executive Director Finance & Information – John Angilley, Chief Financial Officer - Amit Sharma, Executive Director Property & Place -Bryan Hynes, Executive Director City Engagement and Experience - Angela Jones-Blayney, Executive Director City Planning and Design – Jennifer Concato, Executive Director Community Services - Jonathan Greig, Acting Executive Director City Assets & Operations - James Smallson, Director City Strategy – Nicole Carnegie, Chief Governance & Risk Officer - Roxanne Thornton, Chief Technology Officer - John Crawford, Level 1 Support – Wayne Ranson, Level 1 Support - Erik Ivarsson, Group Manager Regulatory Services – Paul Lyth, Chief of Staff - Justin Mulder, Group Manager, Zarena Walker – Facilities and Contracts Coordinator, Group Manager Community Hubs and PHIVE – Christopher Snelling, Councillor Secretariat and Policy Officer – Marina Cavar (Minutes).

1. OPENING MEETING

The Lord Mayor, Councillor Pandey, opened the meeting at 6.06pm.

2. ACKNOWLEDGEMENT TO TRADITIONAL OWNERS OF LAND

The Lord Mayor acknowledged the Burramattagal people of The Dharug Nation as the traditional owners of this land, and paid respect to their ancient culture and to their elders past, present and emerging.

3. WEBCASTING ANNOUNCEMENT

The Lord Mayor advised that this public meeting is being recorded and streamed live on the internet. The recording will also be archived and made available on Council's website.

The Lord Mayor further advised that all care will be taken to maintain privacy, however as a visitor in the public gallery, the public should be aware that their presence may be recorded.

4. GENERAL RECORDING OF MEETING ANNOUNCEMENT

As per Council's Code of Meeting Practice, the recording of the Council Meeting by the public using any device, audio or video, is only permitted with Council permission. Recording a Council Meeting without permission may result in the individual being expelled from the Meeting.

5. APOLOGIES AND APPLICATIONS FOR LEAVE OF ABSENCE OR ATTENDANCE BY AUDIO-VISUAL LINK BY COUNCILLORS

There were no apologies.

6. DISCLOSURES OF INTEREST

There were no Disclosures of Interest made at this meeting.

7. MINUTES OF THE LORD MAYOR

7.1 Lord Mayoral End of Term Report

(Report of the Lord Mayor, Councillor Sameer Pandey)

4510 **RESOLVED** The Lord Mayor, Councillor Pandey and Councillor Garrard

- (a) That Council note I thank the Chamber, the community, Council staff, and my family for their support during my term as Lord Mayor; and
- (b) That the Chamber note the significant achievements and milestones of Council during this period, some of which are outlined in this Minute.

Record of Voting:

For the Motion: Unanimous

Note: The Lord Mayor, Councillor Pandey vacated the Chair and the CEO assumed the Chair to conduct the Mayoral and Deputy Mayoral Elections.

8. REPORTS TO COUNCIL - FOR COUNCIL DECISION

8.1 **Election of the Lord Mayor**

(Report of the Chief Governance & Risk Officer)

4511 **RESOLVED** Councillor Esber and Councillor Davis

- (a) The method of voting was determined as show of hands for the election of the Lord Mayor.
- (b) appoints the Chief Executive Officer as Returning Officer to undertake the election of the Lord Mayor for the period 25 September 2023 to 13 September 2024 inclusive, by announcing the nominations and then conducting the election.
- (c) approves correspondence be forwarded to the Office of Local Government and the Chief Executive of LGNSW advising of the result of the election of the Lord Mayor.

Record of Voting:

For the Motion: Unanimous

The Chief Executive Officer, as Returning Officer, undertook the election of the Lord Mayor.

The Chief Executive Officer, as Returning Officer, advised that she had received two (2) nominations for the position of Lord Mayor, as follows:

Councillor Esber

Nominated by Councillor Prociv seconded by Councillor MacLean. Councillor Esber accepted his nomination.

Councillor Garrard

Nominated by Councillor Wearne seconded by Councillor Green. Councillor Garrard accepted her nomination.

The Chief Executive Officer, as Returning Officer, called for any other nominations and there were none.

Voting on the election of the Lord Mayor was conducted by show of hands and the results were as follows:

Voting for Councillor Esber

There were nine (9) votes FOR Councillor Esber.

Voting for Councillor Garrard

There were six (6) votes FOR Councillor Garrard.

As a result of the vote, the Chief Executive Officer declared Councillor Pierre Esber as Lord Mayor until 13 September 2024.

8.2 Election of Deputy Lord Mayor

(Report of the Chief Governance & Risk Officer)

4512 **RESOLVED** Councillor Esber and Councillor Davis

- (a) The method of voting was determined by show of hands for the election of the Lord Mayor.
- (b) appoints the Chief Executive Officer as Returning Officer to undertake the election of the Deputy Lord Mayor for the period 25 September 2023 to 13 September 2024 inclusive, by announcing the nominations and then conducting the election.
- (c) approves correspondence be forwarded to the Office of Local Government and the Chief Executive of LGNSW advising of the result of the election of the Deputy Lord Mayor.

Record of Voting:

For the Motion: Unanimous

The Chief Executive Officer, as Returning Officer, undertook the election of the Deputy Lord Mayor.

The Chief Executive Officer, as Returning Officer, advised that she had received two nominations for the position of Deputy Lord Mayor for;

Councillor Prociv.

Nominated by Councillor Esber seconded by Councillor Maclean. Councillor Prociv accepted her nomination.

Councillor Valjak

Nominated by Councillor Garrard and seconded by Councillor Siviero. Councillor Valjak accepted her nomination.

The Chief Executive Officer, as Returning Officer, called for any other nominations and there were none.

Voting on the election of the Deputy Lord Mayor was conducted by show of hands as follows:

Voting for Councillor Prociv

There were nine (9) votes FOR Councillor Prociv.

Voting for Councillor Valjak

There were six (6) votes FOR Councillor Valjak.

As a result of the vote, the Chief Executive Officer declared Councillor Patricia Prociv as Deputy Lord Mayor until 13 September 2024.

9. CONCLUSION OF MEETING

The meeting concluded at 6.48 pm.

This page and the preceding four (4) pages are the Minutes of the Extraordinary Council Meeting held on Monday 25 September 2023 and confirmed on Monday 9 October 2023.

Chairperson